2022 Great Practice - PT Telkom Indonesia (Persero)

PT Telkom Indonesia (Persero) - 

Inclusive Digital Education to Increase Educational Quality in Indonesia



As a digital-telco company, Telkom Indonesia has a role in contributing to environmental, social, and governance (ESG) aspects to create shared value for the company, all stakeholders, and the environment. In supporting this, Telkom Indonesia commits to support the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), especially in the field of education, by creating inclusive digital education. Programs initiated by Telkom Indonesia to respond to this commitment include:


1.    Digital Innovation Learning School
2.    Developing Digital Skills for Vocational
3.    Unlock Digital Technologies for Future Generation
4.    Bridging The Disability Divide Through Digital Technologies
5.    Innovillage (Sociodigipreneurship Incubation as A Digital Talent Crowdsourcing Program)


The creation of benefits through these various initiatives is the creation of an increase in the value of benefits in digital education, especially for school students, teachers, students in the Outermost, Frontier, Disadvantaged rural areas, students, and people with disabilities.

Telkom also supports the empowerment and independence of people with disabilities, one of which is by providing educational facilities to students with disabilities in two locations, namely Bandung and Cianjur, in the form of:


1.    I-Chat application for people with disabilities who are deaf - speech impaired;
2.    Braille computers (including applications) for people with visual impairments;
3.    Visual aids for mentally disabled and physically disabled persons.


Telkom Indonesia's target in implementing the digital infrastructure program for educational inclusion has reached the mark in the form of computer and internet facilities assistance in more than 88 schools and more than 5,798 student beneficiaries during the 2020-2021 period, with distribution in:


1.    14 Provinces: North Sumatra, Banten, DKI Jakarta, West Java, East Java/ Madura, Central Java, East Kalimantan, West Kalimantan, South Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan, Lampung, East Nusa Tenggara, and South Sulawesi
2.    10 other provinces have received assistance in the period before 2021, totaling 162 schools with 12,276 students